Search

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Tag

Kate Daniels

I Have To Wait Till AUGUST?!?!? Groan…

So —– yes, I know this is a long way off, but as a huge fangirl of Ilona Andrews Kate Daniels series, I just have to do this.

MagicShifts_smKate Daniels, Book #8

Release date: August 4th, 2015

ISBN-13: 978-0425270677

In the latest Kate Daniels novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Ilona Andrews, magic is coming and going in waves in post-Shift Atlanta—and each crest leaves danger in its wake…

Moan…. so long to WAIT!!!!

But not to panic! Go Here and read an excerpt!!!!!

At least I re-listen to each one before the newest comes out!

Preorder your copy here. Go ahead – you KNOW you want to!

can'twait!!!

 

Advertisements

Review: Gunmetal Magic by Ilona Andrews

gunmetalHumankind seems to have an enormous capacity for savagery, for brutality, for lack of empathy, for lack of compassion. – Annie Lennox

From her birth, Andrea Nash has had a brutal, horrific life. A Beastkin, the child of a hyena who turned into a human and a hyena were, Andrea was tortured, beaten, and brutalized beyond comprehension. Once she escaped from the horrors of her beginnings, Andrea focused – on building a life, creating the person she wished to be. In order to reach her goals, she became the best Order Agent she could possibly be. And the Order of Merciful Aid would never, ever allow a Beastkin amongst their ranks. So, Andrea hid in plain sight, wearing a medallion under her skin to hide her genetics.

When the world fell apart during the war Kate’s millennia old “lovely” auntie Erra started, Andrea made a decision which destroyed her life. She decided to stand with the Order, a group that would just as soon see her dead as a member. Thrown from the Order, and having turned her back on the Pack, and her Bouda prince lover, her life soon falls apart in every way possible.

I examined myself sitting there. I’d held back for so long. I’d been good for so long. I’d always did as expected. I followed the rules and regulations. Look where it got me. Being good hurt.

Now, Kate and Andrea have opened Cutting Edge Investigations, their own little “Order.” And when the murders of several shifters lands on Andrea’s desk, it isn’t only the job that is the problem. Oh, it couldn’t be that easy, now could it? Oh, no. Aunt B is determined to bring Andrea into the fold of the Bouda clan, whether she wants to be folded or not, and the murder victims are all employees of Rafael – yes, that Rafael. Sigh. And of course, when Rafael brings his new flame with him to Andrea’s office, all ‘seven feet of dumb’ girlfriend, well, Andrea blows a gasket. And what comes next will throw Andrea’s life into yet another turmoil which will change her life once again.

Andrea being Andrea, there is a lot of pain – but there is also a lot of humour woven through the story. As with all of the Andrew’s work the story is tightly woven, perfectly plotted and continues the storyline beautifully. I am thrilled with Andrea’s story! I waited a long time for Andrea’s story, and I couldn’t have been happier with the outcome.

Highly recommended!

 

Review: Magic Gifts A Kate Daniels Novella

magicgiftsKate Daniels has always been on my very short list of the best Urban Fantasy heroines today. Strong, caring, heroic. She is all the things that a strong heroine should be, and I love her for it.

In the Kate Daniels Novella, Magic Gifts, we see Kate at her best as she, Curran and Doolittle struggle to save the life of a child. A child who has been cruelly endangered by his sociopathic mother. With only a short time to save the child, our intrepid trio must do what it takes to rescue the child, even if it endangers their own lives. Pure, classic Kate.

This novella was a holiday gift from the team of Ilona Andrews to all their loyal readers, and it is a lovely gift indeed! Taking place during the action of Gunmetal Magic, Andrea’s story, it blends the happenings of Gunmetal with Magic and as usual blends seamlessly into the overall story line. And with all the action and pain, there is also the Andrews undercurrent of humour from the very first, when Andrea and Kate are trying to wrestle the body of a seventy pound flying jellyfish dripping pale pink slime through the door of Cutting Edge Investigations.

If you are a fan, don’t miss this novella. And if you haven’t been blessed with knowledge of this series, well, pick it up. It is like Cookies and Crème Ice Cream – you can’t stop with just one bite!

Ilona Andrews and the Wonderous Excerpt!!!

magicbreaks
Ilona Andrews (Ilona and Gordon) have an excerpt on their website!
Click the link to read the First Two Chapters!!!!
It comes out on my birthday – HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!

 

Looks What Comes Out On My Birthday!!!!

magicbreaksJULY 29TH, BABY!!!  WHOOT WHOOT!!!!

A Questionable Client – Kate Meets Saiman

The problem with leucrocotta blood is that it stinks to high heaven. It’s also impossible to get off your boots, particularly if the leucrocotta condescended to void its anal glands on you right before you chopped its head off. – Ilona Andrews, A Questionable Client

Ya gotta love Kate. Chase it down, kick it a couple times, then chop its head off. Done and done.

A Questionable Client was previously published in Dark and Stormy Knights anthology and is currently available as part of Magic Bites, Special Edition and as an independent release, Magic Graves.

This is the first time Kate meets Saiman, the shapeshifting pervert so integral to many of Kate’s storylines. In true Kate Daniels style, her first meeting with Saiman results in blood, swordplay, and general mayhem as Kate attempts to protect Saiman from those who would kill him. Well, kill him with good reason, but hey, as we soon learn, pretty much everyone wants to kill Saiman. And you can’t say he doesn’t really deserve it . . .

postshiftatlanta
Photo courtesy of http://www.ilona-andrews.com/
All rights reserved.

 Post shift Atlanta is a world of change – technology and magic fight a battle of ascension, with technology failing badly as magic eats away at the “high tech corpses” of the buildings and tools of the world of men. Reality is now magic and creatures of night and terror, weres and vampires and things that go bump in the night. And as a mercenary, Kate’s sword comes in really handy for cutting the heads off of said things.

 I am slowly working my way back into reading as I took the last couple of days off to catch up on my sleep. A Kate Daniels short is the perfect way to get back into what I love, and a great way to ease your way into the world of Post Shift Atlanta. And it is free on Ilona and Gordon’s website, what can be better than that?? Click the pic of Post Shift Atlanta to go to the right page on the website. Enjoy!

Curran’s POV’s Are All In One Place!

curranpov
All the Curran POV’s up to now in one easy to read place!

How is THIS for a beautiful cover???? Curran’s POV Collection includes all of the Point Of View stories written by Gordon to go along with the Kate Daniels series.

Don’t you always wonder what the other main character is thinking when the heroine is rushing around doing what she does? For me, the Curran stories are priceless, adding in Curran’s thoughts to what is happening as the Kate series goes along.

I receive Ilona and Gordon’s e-mails, so I have read all of the POV’s, but having them in a collection is great. And who can resist that AMAZING cover???

If you haven’t read the Kate Daniels series, well, DO SO! It is one of my favorite series of all times. Kate is strong, smart, and amazing. Highly, Highly Recommended!!!! And the Curran POV’s are that bit of lagniappe that makes the series even richer.

Review: Maggie for Hire: Maggie MacKay Magical Tracker Book 1 by Kate Danley

Maggie For Hire Book One of the Maggie MacKay Magical Tracker Series

maggieforhire
Come on, get the series. If you have a great sense of humour, this is a great series!

First, let’s get out of the way what Maggie isn’t – this isn’t a “romance” paranormal or not. It isn’t a “serious” urban fantasy work in the vein of Kate Daniels or Mercy Thompson. It is, instead, a pure and total snarky laugh riot. It is total enjoyment, a few hours of pure relaxation, where the weight of the world goes away and you can immerse yourself in another world.

“I suddenly felt like I was about to learn that I had walked into a great big game show of The Multiverse’s Next Top Stooge, Riiight.”

The world that you are immersing yourself in is really two worlds – the “normal” everyday world, and another, sitting side-by-side with this world, where all of our dreams and fears exist. If you have ever read Heinlein’s “The Number of the Beast” you are familiar with multiple world theory (well, if you are familiar with modern science, you are also familiar, lol) The Other Side, in Maggie’s case, is a world that fairy tale creatures and monsters of all types populate. As a Tracker, Maggie finds, and brings back to the Other Side, those who ‘slip’ across the barrier between worlds. What happens in this edition is exciting and entertaining, and full of a kind of snarky attitude that had me laughing out loud all through the book.

A couple of favorite quotes:

“Lacy interrupted herself to shout at the zombie porter, “Cut it out! He’s a vampire! he doesn’t have a brain!”

“Locking eyes with a vampire: “Way To Get Yourself Killed Right Quick #84″ in the Idiots Guide to not Getting Dead By A Monster.”

See? Pure fun, with a bit of action, a lot of crazy uncle and grins galore.

Now, “I shall run a load of laundry before we kick the bad guys’ asses.”

Read. Relax. Enjoy. And don’t go in with any expectations other than the fact that it is supposed to be fun and you will be very glad you did.

The Better Part of Darkness – Kelly Gay

better part of darkness
Click to purchase from Amazon

 

Since I am taking a couple of days off, I thought now would be a good time to re post one of my older reviews from Amazon. This is the first in the Charlie Madigan series.

I go back to the series every few months, as I really enjoy reading it. And, of course, every time I go back to an “oldie but goodie” I find something I had not seen before, or something I had forgotten.

I had never really read anything by Kelly Gay before, so was curious when I picked up the first in this series as to what I would think. Fantasy of this type, admittedly, is my favorite. When it is done well, as with the works of Andrews and others, it is stunning. Or, it can be the biggest let-down you can ever imagine (I have checked out some real stinkers in my time).

One of the first things I noticed about this book is the fact that the main character is not only a kick-butt cop, and having just returned from the dead (drum-roll please) she is also a single mother of a teenage daughter. Oh, the horror! LOL….

Like the Andrews “Kate Daniels” series, this series is set in an alternate, ‘Post-Revalation’ world. Gay’s work is different and clever enough to stand on it’s own in a changed Atlanta, which I was glad to see. In fact, the world building is the best part of the book in my humble opinion. Oh, it is a good book for a first of a series, it kept my attention throughout. But I am always looking for that extra bit of “oomph” in the character building over the next books to push it into 5 star territory.

With this start, I am hoping that I can soon award that extra star.

Note:  The following books in the series didn’t fail to live up to the promise of the first.

darkest edge
Click to buy.
hour of dst
Click to purchase
shadows
Click to buy

 

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑